top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKeri

My DIY Philosophy


I am not an expert, by any means, but I like to think that I pull projects off because I am not afraid to try (or to fail). If there's one thing I've learned doing DIY projects, its that


just because you've never done something, doesn't mean you can't do it.


 


When I am having trouble motivating or finding the confidence to begin a new project, I try and remind myself of a few things:


  1. JUST GO FOR IT I'm a very "figure it out as you go" kind of person. I’ve found that just diving into things is a great way to learn. If you follow me on Instagram you’ve seen that I rarely have a perfect plan. I like to try things out, see what works, and change what doesn’t! I mean honestly, what's the worst that happens, you mess up? That brings me to my next point...

  2. IT CAN ALWAYS BE FIXED DIY (especially for beginners, like myself) does not come mistake-free. I’ve made plenty of mistakes, but that’s just a part of the process, and that’s how you learn! The only reason I know how to patch holes in a wall, is because I messed up my closet build. Now I'm confident that if I ever need to do it again, it will be no big deal. Do not let the fear of messing something up hold you back, because you probably WILL mess up, but it can always be fixed, and you'll learn something new in the process.

  3. PRACTICE MAKES.. IMPROVEMENTS As a beginner, my DIYs are rarely (if ever) "perfect," but we all know, the best way to improve at something is to practice. I am always learning. After every project, my skills and my confidence improve, and I am able to say "next time, I will...". Plus, I'll tell you what, the pride I feel after finishing a project, even if it has some imperfections, feels SO DAMN GOOD.


As a beginner DIY-er, you need to accept a few things - mistakes WILL happen, and your projects may not always be perfect. It's a learning process! If you can push past those things, I promise it'll be worth it. Once you complete a project, you'll experience that DIY empowerment and ride the confidence high onto your next, more ambitious one.




 

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page